Air Odor Noise Committee Lucinda Sonnenberg, Ph.D. – Chair Nick Howland Amy Fu, P.E. Moheen Rathore, M.D.

Education & Public Outreach Tony Bellamy, P.E. Steven Jenkins Lucinda Sonnenberg, Ph.D. Michelle Tappouni



Water Committee Bobby L. Baker, P.E. – Chair Tony C. Bellamy, P.E. Roi Dagan, M.D. Steven Jenkins

Michelle Tappouni – Chairman Nick Howland – Vice Chairman Bobby L. Baker, P.E., Tony C. Bellamy, P.E. Roi Dagan, M.D., Amy Fu, P.E., Steven Jenkins, Mobeen Rathore, M.D., Lucinda Sonnenberg, Ph.D.

August 17, 2015

South Florida Water Management District, CFWI Comments ATTN: Dean Powell, Water Supply Bureau 3301 Gun Club Road West Palm Beach, FL 33406

Re: Public Comments CFWI Draft 2035 Water Resources Protection and Water Supply Strategies Plan

Dear Mr. Powell:

Thank you for the opportunity to present comments related to the Central Florida Water Initiative (CFWI) Draft 2035 Water Resources Protection and Water Supply Strategies Plan on behalf of the Jacksonville Environmental Protection Board (JEPB). The City of Jacksonville has a long-standing focus on environmental issues impacting the quality of life of its residents. Established in 1965, the JEPB acts as the local hearing platform for all environmental matters that occur within Duval County.

Since 2008, the JEPB has sustained a public policy position opposing water withdrawals from the St. Johns River to support increased water demand in other areas of the State. We maintain that position today. We support strategies that include conservation incentives, aquifer recharge, hydration of wetlands and the reuse of potable and nonpotable water. In addition, we believe increased public education and outreach regarding water conservation should be used to offset increased water demand.

We strongly advise SJRWMD, and other managers of the public water supply, to adopt policies prioritizing proven strategies before any consideration of plans that include water withdrawal projects.

Sincerely,

Michelle M. Tappouni, Chair Jacksonville Environmental Protection Board

cc: Environmental Protection Board Drew Bartlett, FDEP Robin Lumb, Mayor's Office Kimberly Scott, Director - Regulatory Compliance Department Melissa Long, Chief - Environmental Quality Division